LazyBounty
← All articles
Guide

Who can take part in paid research studies, and which ones: age, countries, professions

26 September 2026 · 6 min read

Almost any adult can take part in paid research studies, but not in every study. Prolific accepts people only from age 18 and only from countries on its list; Askable from 13 with parental consent. Respondent says many studies are open to everyday consumers, while senior B2B professionals regularly earn more than $400 per session. What decides it is not a diploma but a match with the profile the researcher is looking for.

Three general conditions

The first condition is age. Prolific accepts only people over 18 with a created and verified account, and researchers are prohibited from recruiting minors. Askable allows sign-up from age 13, but for people between 13 and 18 a parent or guardian must read and agree to the terms.

The second condition is where you live. Prolific states that eligibility is based on where you currently live, not your nationality. User Interviews publishes a separate list of countries where you can take part. Askable operates in many countries but not all, and you can check yours when creating an account.

The third condition is an honest profile. Every study looks for specific people, and platforms cross-check your answers. Untrue screener answers are the fastest way to lose an account.

Countries: where the big platforms work

Prolific publishes its country list. It covers most OECD nations, including the US, the UK, Canada, Australia, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain and Italy, as well as Brazil, Mexico, India, Indonesia, South Africa, the UAE and others. Ukraine is not on the list. Ukrainians living in another country on the list can take part as residents of that country.

Who can join: age and countries from official pages, 26 Sep 2026
PlatformAgeCountriesWho they look for
Prolific18 and overcountry list, mostly OECD; no Ukrainebroad audience for online surveys
Askable13 and over, under 18 with parental consentmany countries, checked at sign-upconsumers, professionals, users of specific products
Respondentnot stated on the participant pagemore than 150 countriesconsumers and professionals, including B2B
User Interviewsnot stated on the participant pageseparate country listparticipants for interviews, focus groups, diaries

Everyday consumers

The largest group of studies is about everyday life. Respondent gives examples: studies about grocery shopping or travel are open to a general audience with relevant experience. Companies need people who actually use their product or service, or a competitor’s.

What researchers most often want to know: how you shop, which apps you use, how you choose a bank or insurance, how you plan a holiday, how you look after your health. The profile of an "ordinary person" is still a profile, and it gets paid.

Professionals and B2B

The best-paid studies are for professionals. Respondent says senior B2B roles regularly pay $400 or more per session. Companies that sell software, equipment or services to businesses want to talk to the people who make buying decisions: IT managers, finance staff, marketers, doctors, lawyers, heads of department.

For professionals it is important to state your job title, industry, company size and area of responsibility precisely in your profile. Researchers filter participants by exactly these fields. Sometimes a platform asks you to confirm your role, for example through a LinkedIn profile.

Special groups researchers look for

Some profiles are in particularly high demand because they are hard to find.

Formats: what you will actually do

User Interviews publishes ranges by format, and they show how different taking part can be: from a ten-minute survey to a diary kept for several weeks.

Study formats per User Interviews, 26 Sep 2026
FormatLengthPay
surveys and user testing10 minutes – several hours$20–300+
one-on-one interview30 minutes – 2 hours$20–300+
online focus group1–3 hours$40–200+
diary study3 days – several weeks$55–400+
in-person study30 minutes – 2 hours$40–1,000+

Why you might not be selected

Being screened out is not a judgement of you as a person. A researcher may be looking for, say, ten people of a certain age from a certain city who use a certain service. If the places are filled, or you do not match one field, the screener closes. Respondent says it directly: some studies look for specific professional backgrounds, but many are open to everyday consumers, so you will qualify for some studies and not others.

Askable says the same: anyone who meets the conditions can join, but each study targets specific demographics, so members will qualify for some studies but not others. The practical conclusion is to treat rejections as part of the process and keep applying, rather than changing your answers to fit.

How to get into studies more often

The practical conclusions from the platforms’ rules are simple.

How much different profiles are paid

Pay depends not only on format but also on how rare your profile is. Respondent gives reference points for its platform: most sessions pay $50–250, focus groups and in-person studies average $150–250 per session, and senior B2B roles regularly pay more than $400. A typical session there lasts 45 minutes, and the average payout across the platform is $75. The rarer and more specific your background, the fewer people can compete with you for a place, which is why professionals are paid the most.

Pay by profile and format per Respondent, 26 Sep 2026
Profile or formatPay
most sessions$50–250
average payout on the platform$75
focus groups and in-person studiesaverage $150–250 per session
senior B2B rolesregularly over $400

Checks before you sign up

To avoid spending time on a platform where you cannot get paid, check five things before registering, ideally in this order. Each one takes a minute and saves you from building a profile that will never receive an invitation.

Questions and answers

Can students take part in paid research?

Yes, if they meet the platform’s age and country rules. Prolific accepts people from 18, Askable from 13, with a parent or guardian agreeing to the terms under 18. Students are often sought for studies about education, apps and shopping.

Do you need English to take part?

Not always. Many studies run in English, but local-market studies look for speakers of other languages. The study language is stated in its description, and the screener usually checks it right away, so you will know before investing much time.

From what age can you take part in paid research?

It depends on the platform. Prolific only from 18. Askable from 13, but under 18 a parent or guardian must agree to the terms.

Can you take part from Ukraine?

Not on every platform. Ukraine is not on Prolific’s country list. Eligibility depends on where you live, not your nationality, so Ukrainians abroad take part as residents of their new country.

Do you need special education?

No. Askable says no special background is needed, and Respondent that many studies are open to everyday consumers. Professionals are paid more, but participation is not limited to them.

How much are professionals paid?

Respondent says senior B2B roles regularly pay $400 or more per session, while most sessions pay $50–250.

Why was I not selected for a study?

Most often because the places were already filled or you did not match one criterion. Each study targets a specific audience.

Sources

Official pages of the platforms and authorities, checked on 26 September 2026

  1. Prolific: Who can participate in studies on Prolific?
  2. Askable: Can anyone join Askable?
  3. Respondent: Get paid for research studies and paid surveys
  4. User Interviews: Get paid for surveys, focus groups, and studies
  5. User Interviews: Countries where you can participate in studies

Useful on the site

Ready to try?

Fill in your profile once and see only the studies you actually qualify for.

Start the 7-day trial
Who can take part in paid research studies · LazyBounty